Heels on Saturday = my poor feet on Sunday

Big night out yesterday, PPC art opening then a friend was in town to play a club show.  I figured I’d step it up a bit with a newer sweet pair of booties.  I’m in pain today.  No amount of champagne helped.  Trust – I tried.  What is a girl to do when she lives in a city known for it’s hills but feels fancy when she is a few inches off the ground?  Granted they were a bit higher than I remembered but still…what’s the remedy for my suffering?  Some say heels are “over” – even though my toes are in a bad place today I can’t say I agree.  My high school boyfriend wore Birkenstocks (and liked jam bands) and they worked on him.  My mom wears them when she’s doing gardening shit outside.  I’m all for comfort/function/trend but you won’t catch me in a wool clog, Birkenstock or croc in this lifetime.

Chloe Sevigny was profiled in the NY Times recently and as is often the case she was confirming her status as a style maven. Chloe however, protests that she’s “over” fashion when she states:

“I’m just not as excited by it,” Ms. Sevigny said, of both. “I don’t know if it is a reflection of what they are producing, or just my feelings toward it. I bought a pair of Birkenstocks today — let’s be real. I wanted a chunky sandal that was functional. That should tell you where I am at as far as fashion.”

 

P.S. The above image accompanied the article and was shot prior to the presentation of Chloe’s collaboration with Opening Ceremony. Note the lack of heels!

via Highsnobiety

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

